"Awesome experience"

Property is perfect. Kitchen thoroughly equipped and all the supplies needed. House is spacious with beautiful furnishings. House sits high on a hill with an amazing view. Air conditioning is available but we didn't use it because of the cool breezes and many ceiling fans. Loved the pool. My favorite part. It was nice to wake up and just jump in. Plenty of room for outside space. Donald and Nathan are the best. We've been coming to CR for years and have never been treated better. They took care of everything. They arranged all excursions, reservations at various restaurants, made recommendations/ taxis etc. .. Everything. Paulette came daily and cleaned the house and for a small fee, did our laundry, which was perfect. For our visit, Donald and Nathan convinced me to skip a car and use public transportation, walk to various places, or take a taxi. Happy we did. Most restaurants were within walking distance. This saved us a lot of expense. We decided to have Daria, the chef,to make us a meal one night...delicious . I encourage visitors to do this. A special thank you to Donald and Nathan for arranging a last minute bday celebration for my husband at Agua Azul. They came through for me. To sum it up...you won't be disappointed. We left feeling very fortunate for staying at this home and for having Donald and Nathan as our hosts. Pura vida! The Miglioretti Family, Maryland

The Miglioretti Family, Maryland (February 2017)

"Best family holiday ever!"

For Thanksgiving, my family of 11 (7 adults and 4 littles) spent a wonderful week @ Casa Tranquila. It was perfect from the house and furnishings, to the pool to the views. Donald and Nathan arranged everything for us. It was very easy and yet an adventure for my grandchildren. WE are on our way back next year! All 11 of us are in agreement (that doesn't happen often) that this was our best holiday ever! Thank you for helping create wonderful memories for us...

Sandra D. (November 2016)

“Perfect Villa and Hosts”

I've stayed at Casa Tranquila twice over the years, and each time the stay has been perfect. Not only is Casa Tranquila itself flawlessly appointed and wonderfully located, but Donald and Nathan are such great hosts we've relied on them for concierge services on other visits to Manuel Antonio (including a recent trip where our group was too large for Casa Tranquila itself, but Donald and Nathan still helped us book tours and activities during our week in Costa Rica).

When staying at a vacation villa, two main factors can make or break the entire experience - the quality of the facility, and the attention paid by the owner/host. With Casa Tranquila, you can not ask for more from the villa itself, and your host. Donald and Nathan make it a point to greet you upon arrival, and make themselves available throughout your stay. You never have to worry about what you might find with other vacation rentals, where the owner lives remotely or out of the country and you're dealing with a property manager who services the villa you're staying at, along with countless others. With Casa Tranquila, you can tell the owner not only cares greatly about their own property and making sure it's absolutely perfect for every visitor, but also cares about your entire trip - every activity we booked through them was a blast (and booking through them means you get the best prices, and the activity providers take great care of you); every restaurant recommendation was spot-on; every tour or outing suggestion was perfect.

You really do get a good idea of what Casa Tranquila offers through photos and descriptions - the villa has amazing views, is wonderfully appointed, and truly is top-notch luxury. What you can't see in the photos, though, is the attention and care paid to you by Donald and Nathan during your stay. I'd not only highly recommend the villa, but also taking advantage of their concierge services to make sure you not only book the right activities while in the area, but get the best prices on them!

Brian D. (March 2016)

"Donald and Nathan take care of you down to the last detail..."

Casa Tranquila's spectacular view is only part of it. . . . The home is beautifully laid out for families and/or couples. Immaculately maintained. Donald and Nathan take care of you down to the last detail. . . . We loved being up the hill. After a day in the busy beaches of Manuel Antonio, it was a treat to come back to enjoy the pool and the view and the cool breezes. We didn't use the air-conditioning - although it was there. Our kids loved the animals. There were delights for all ages. A fabulous family vacation!

Dee I. (May 2016)

Fergus appreciates your reviews! Leave comments HERE

Fergus appreciates your reviews! Leave comments HERE


The views from Casa Tranquila are even more beautiful than the photos can depict.

I chose this beautiful home based on the outstanding reviews and breathtaking views of the Pacific.for our first trip to Costa Rica. I couldn't have made a better choice. The views from Casa Tranquila are even more beautiful than the photos can depict. The layout of the home is open and airy. The bedrooms are large and extremely comfortable and relaxing. As beautiful as the home is, we found ourselves outdoors most of the time. When we were not out enjoying the many actives in the Manuel Antonio area, we were in the pool. From sun up to sun down the pool was the best place to enjoy the view and take in the sights and sounds of nature. From our house we saw monkeys, a mama sloth with her baby, beautiful birds and iguana. If a gorgeous home in a beautiful location is not convincing enough for you to pack your bags, then the guidance and services of the staff and endless variety of activities for all ages will be. Donald, the owner, and Nathan, your concierge, will take care of your every wish. They provide "Tips for Visiting Costa Rica" and a calendar of "Must Do's" for an exhilarating and/or relaxing vacation. After choosing your weekly activities, Nathan will schedule and confirm all activities including door-to-door transportation. Our group included a range of ages, 9-68, and we all enjoyed the activities we planned including: the buggy tour, sunset cruise, National Park, zip line, and butterfly garden. The restaurants are plentiful and within walking distance. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner at home provided by Nisim, their recommended private chef. The meals were delicious and plentiful. Paulet, our sunny and sweet housekeeper, even agreed to an evening of child care so that we could go out and celebrate our daughter's engagement. She was proposed to at the waterfall while on the buggy tour! So much fun! We had a wonderful time at Casa Tranquila and the Manuel Antonio area. We have recommended this home and location to family and friends. Thank you to everyone who made our stay so much fun...it's true that you enter as guests but leave as friends. We look forward to our next visit.

Cathy O. (April 2016)


The house is a great set up, has everything you need and the pool was my kind of temperature.
Casa Tranquila was everything I expected it to be and more.

Our owners, hosts and now friends at Casa Tranquila took such extraordinary care of us even before we arrived! They were so helpful and wise about how to prepare us for the best experience during our stay. You can tell they love CR and they go above and beyond what most VRBO's offer. They are so knowledgeable about the restaurants, activities and have all the best people set up for whatever you want to do. You do want to have the chef come in and do dinners. And I mean several. What a nice evening to move from the pool to cocktails to absolutely first class food and then linger as you are 'at home'. The house is a great set up, has everything you need and the pool was my kind of temperature. Close walk to town for fun restaurants and a bit of shopping. The Vacation Buggy and massages were other highlights. You have to book at least a year in advance and we're so glad we did. Many thanks again!!!

- Beth (February 2016)

Casa Tranquila was everything I expected it to be and more. The views and pictures of the property don't do it real justice. The villa was comfortable, well-appointed, and quiet. Donald and his staff were readily available for advice, suggestions, and assistance. When you walk through the front gate, you need to leave all cares and concerns behind. Be a tourist, be a guest...you will leave with new friends and new memories of an absolutely beautiful home by the sea.

- Becky J. (December 2015)


...many a morning & evening on the porch taking in the ocean view, watching the monkeys, and enjoying cocktails.

We spent Thanksgiving 2015 at Casa Tranquila, and it was glorious! The home is beautiful. We spent many a morning and evening on the porch taking in the ocean view, watching the monkeys, and enjoying cocktails. My niece lived in the pool whenever we weren't out and about on an excursion. Donald and Nathan are great hosts and set us up with fun activities. The house was perfect for our three families. And, if you want a restaurant meal made right at home, be sure and ask Nathan to set you up with Nissam and Flora; lovely people who make fabulous food. You will love staying at Casa Tranquilla! Pura Vida!

- Aly T. (December, 2015)


We had such an amazing vacation in Costa Rica and staying at Casa Tranquila made it that much more special.

We had such an amazing vacation in Costa Rica and staying at Casa Tranquila made it that much more special. The home is beautiful. We took advantage of the main house plus the Casita. It was perfect for our needs. My daughter loved the pool and swam every day. We loved sitting outside, looking at the amazing view while sipping a cocktail. Donald and Nathan are fabulous hosts. They made sure every need was taken care of. Our excursions were wonderful - we highly recommend the buggy ride, the zip line and the guide in the park. Additionally, they arranged for us to have a private chef - this was over the top amazing. We loved this place and look forward to when we can return. We feel so fortunate to have some new friends in Costa Rica.

- David R. (November 2015)


Such enthusiasm and passion about their place made us feel like we were part of the Costa Rican family immediately

We just returned from a wonderful and most relaxing vacation at the beautiful Casa Tranquila. It is a beautiful villa located in a wonderful location between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. The home has spectacular views and rates 5 stars in beauty, luxury and most importantly comfort. We were a group of 8 friends traveling (4 couples) so the layout is perfect for couples since each suite in the main house has three beautiful bedrooms with their own private baths. The casita is a perfect little oasis on its own with spectacular views through the glass windows. The villa is decorated beautifully with wonderful touches all around. Gorgeous flowers in every room. The kitchen table is huge and was perfect for 8 of us to sit around. We never felt cramped. Everything was amazing, the villa, location, the property, and the views were all wonderful. The best part of our stay by far was the wonderful hospitality we received from Donald and Nathan. Nathan made sure our vacation was packed with informative and fun day trips so we could always come back by the afternoon and relax by the pool. He made our trip worry-free in every way. Donald was a wonderful host who met us at the villa with all the information we would need for our stay. It was refreshing to not have to wonder where light switches were, etc. Such enthusiasm and passion about their place made us feel like we were part of the Costa Rican family immediately. Paulette came every day and kept the place immaculate as did Juan on the grounds and pool. Only a short walk (a little hilly if you are of a certain age ) brings you to the main road where you can catch the bus for 65 cents! The bus travels between Quepos and MA Park and is a wonderful way to explore Costa Rica. It was a wonderful experience for us staying at Casa Tranquila. I can’t recommend our experience enough. The best part of our stay by far was our interactions with Donald & Nathan. They went above and beyond to answer any questions we had and to offer up suggestions for good local restaurants and places to see. They made our trip and we will definitely return for another stay at the beautiful Casa Tranquila.

- Laura L. (October 2015)


My wife and three teenage daughters all loved it. We were right in the heart of Manuel Antonio: close to the beach, restaurants, markets and activities.The staff is knowledgeable and went the extra mile to make sure our trip was special and comfortable.

- Edward L. (August 2015)


We stayed here for a week and it was the best vacation we have ever had.

We took our 10 year old twins and our father In law to Costa Rica for spring break. We stayed here for a week and it was the best vacation we have ever had. Everything was set up for us prior to our arrival. From our ride to Casa Tranquila from the airport to dinner reservations, and all of our excursions. Donald and Nathan have thought of everything. Casa Tranquila was perfect for our family. The kids enjoyed coming home from our excursions and swimming in the pool before our dinners. Donald came over and visited with us. He was always available for advice on where to go and help with anything we needed.

- Cheryl G. (July 2015)


I felt as if we had made the best of friends in Costa Rica.

The property was every bit as perfect as the photos on the website depicted. Donald was warm and inviting in our very first exchange and continued through to the end of the vacation. The concierge service was top notch and the house staff made everything very comfortable for my group of girlfriends and me. It was the most wonderful customized experience and I found the people we met to be so easy going and living truly the motto, PURA VIDA. I felt as if we had made the best of friends in Costa Rica. It was the most memorable birthday celebration for all of us turning (gulp) 40!

- Dalia D (March 2015)

Everyone at Casa Tranquila truly made enjoying our vacation effortless.

Casa Tranquila is a beautiful house where we easily felt at home. My family and I traveled to Costa Rica without a worry about our transportation to Manuel Antonio or setting up our excursions. Nathan did such a wonderful job scheduling everything perfectly and we had plenty of time to enjoy Casa Tranquila's amazing view. We went zip lining, buggy touring, fishing, and ATVing. Every single excursion was well organized and also had a wonderful lunch included. The staff at Casa Tranquila was outstanding. Paulette kept the home beautiful so we didn't have to worry about doing to the dishes or changing the trash and Juan kept the pool deck flawless. Everyone at Casa Tranquila truly made enjoying our vacation effortless. We will definitely be returning in the near future for an exciting and fun filled vacation with our family. Donald is such a wonderful host and did everything to make sure it was perfect. We highly recommend visiting Casa Tranquila for your future vacation. Pura Vida!

- Lynda S (June 2015)


In one word, Casa Tranquila is AMAZING! From the moment we arrived at the Casa’s doorstep, it felt like home. Donald and Nathan greeted us with a fresh fruit beverage and gave us a royal tour of our home in paradise. They were always a call away and orchestrated many of our spur of the moment excursions. There was not a request they could not bring to fruition. Paulett brightened our morning each day with her infectious smile and bubbly personality and ensured that our new home was spotless. The love that has gone into Casa Tranquila is apparent and the love for each new visitor cannot be surpassed. Thank you for sharing your home with us - we cannot wait to come back!

- Cheyanne R. (January 2015)


All of the excursions that Nathan arranged for us were wonderful - both the service and the experience.

We spent six days in Manuel Antonio to celebrate our son's recent graduation from high school. Two families that included four teenagers fit perfectly in Casa Tranquila. The view is amazing as is the pool area. All of the excursions that Nathan arranged for us were wonderful - both the service and the experience. Rafting was the all-around favorite. And Jessica's meals that she prepared for us were fabulous. The location is great for walking to several local restaurants where once again the views are unbelievable. We visited during the rainy season, and it did not slow us down much. It did rain some each day, so be prepared for it. Donald, Nathan, and Jessica did an outstanding job of making every aspect of this vacation memorable.

- Gray C (July 2014)

They are so kind, thoughtful & truly passionate about their ‘job’.

Costa Rica is an amazing country to visit, but only if you stay at Casa Tranquila! Donald & Nathan take care of every detail of your visit & it was amazing. They are so kind, thoughtful & truly passionate about their "job". They do a phenomenal job. Jessica makes sure your stay is comfortable. Every day we came back to a clean, inviting home. Juan takes care of the pool & landscaping. We were very grateful that he swept the leaves from the stairs, especially after it rained (I am a bit of a spaz). Our girls loved playing with Sombra in the pool. They wanted to take her home! Nathan, I can't forget the homemade cupcakes, YUM! I had 2 the first day & another the next.! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! We miss you guys!

- Kris A. (August 2014)


We couldn’t have asked for more... We are already planning our trip back!

This was our first visit to Costa Rica and it surpassed all of our expectations! Casa Tranquila was amazing! The home was beautiful with all the amenities one could ask for. Jessica made sure it was cleaned to perfection each and every day! We loved sitting by the pool with the breath-taking view. We loved walking to town, and visiting the great local restaurants. Donald and Nathan were always available to suggest the very best of restaurants. The beach and National Park were beautiful. We couldn't have asked for more... We are already planning our trip back!

- Tim B (March 2014)


The view is beautiful and the house is very inviting...


Since coming to Manuel Antonio for the past four years, this property is one of my favorites. The view is beautiful and the house is very inviting with a great staff and an owner who will help you relax and enjoy this great area. One can hike, water sports, sail, swing through the trees, or just kick back and enjoy the scenery. I would recommend this property to young families, empty nesters or older travelers who wish to visit Paradise.

- Dianne B. (February 2014)


Should have stayed longer!

The villa is modern, clean and well maintained. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you could possibly want, including spices. We appreciated the extras that were provided, that most places don’t have – suntan lotion, bug spray, beach towels, beach bags, robes, room safes, etc. The ocean view is amazing and is a daily reminder of the beauty and serenity that surrounds this location. The pool was a great focal point for our family to relax in the afternoons. In the evenings, we appreciated the separate living areas so kids and adults could have their own space."Should have stayed longer!"

he villa is modern, clean and well maintained. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you could possibly want, including spices. We appreciated the extras that were provided, that most places don’t have – suntan lotion, bug spray, beach towels, beach bags, robes, room safes, etc. The ocean view is amazing and is a daily reminder of the beauty and serenity that surrounds this location. The pool was a great focal point for our family to relax in the afternoons. In the evenings, we appreciated the separate living areas so kids and adults could have their own space.

We didn’t get a rental car and didn’t miss having one. The villa is a mere 5 minute walk to the main road where one can catch a bus or find a few restaurants. Donald and Nathan made arrangements for all our daily excursions which is a wonderful service to provide. Every day we knew where, when, who and how much. Most of the excursions provided transportation for us, and those that didn’t, arrangements were made by Donald and Nathan. They also made arrangements for our transportation from the San Jose airport and the driver was kind enough to stop to view the wildlife and the grocery store on the way in. We did jet skiing, snorkeling, spice gardens, ATV’s, 10-in-1 adventure, butterfly gardens (don’t miss it – a 10 minute walk from the villa), sunset cruise, mangrove kayaking, national park and deep sea fishing. Still didn’t get to do everything we wanted! Should have stayed longer!

- Linda A. (January 2014)


Donald & Nathan were super helpful in organizing our trip.

We had a great time on our trip – Casa Tranquila was a large part why. Large, comfortable, and well appointed, the home is a terrific place to stay while exploring all that Manuel Antonio has to offer.  Donald and Nathan were super helpful in organizing our trip and taking care of us while we were there. Jessica, the cook we hired through Donald, was fantastic! Highly recommended.

- Walter H. (December 2013)

We had a great, relaxing time!

My husband and I and another couple stayed here just for a few days in November; we had a great, relaxing time! Donald’s home is beautiful and very comfortable. He had great local recommendations for anything from food to activities. Would love to come back and spend a full week to take advantage of everything Manuel Antonio has to offer!

- Amy C. (December 2013)

We had the most amazing view of the ocean from Tranquila, yet privacy of the gardens surrounding the home

Everything about our Costa Rican escape was perfection, including our stay at Casa Tranquila. Donald was the perfect host and took care of every detail for us. We had the most amazing view of the ocean from Tranquila, yet privacy of the gardens surrounding the home -- it was the perfect setting of ocean views and forest/gardens where we had up close and personal visits by the white-faced monkeys and squirrel monkeys. Donald made the perfect connections for us, including canopy tours, white-water rafting, spa massage and even a surf lesson. We had a private cook that made the most tasty meals -- I would say even better than some of the local restaurants! It was simply a trip of a lifetime and staying at Casa Tranquila was heaven on earth. We'll be back.

- Casie C. (April 2013)


KNOW that Donald and his extended family will make your stay all that you hope it will be.

If you're like me, you carefully research vacation-stay alternatives, nervously select just the right one, and then plan as best you can to make your stay just right. And, if you're like me, choose Casa Tranquila for your visit to Costa Rica, and KNOW that Donald and his extended family will make your stay all that you hope it will be. 

- Robert W. (March 2013)

With many experiences renting vacation homes, this is by far the VERY BEST choice we ever made

Casa Tranquila is a very special place. It's a beautiful house with amazing views but what sets this house apart is the Casa Tranquila team. Donald and his amazing staff are so friendly and go out of there way to make sure that every detail is taken care of. With many experiences renting vacation homes, this is by far the VERY BEST choice we ever made. Costa Rica is a beautiful country and the people are very nice. All of the excursions and restaurants that Donald recommended were outstanding. We really did leave as friends! We can't thank them enough for a very memorable anniversary vacation.

- Laura C. (February (2013)


I think we have started a new family tradition! The house is beyond beautiful!

WE LOVED DONALD AND CASA TRANQUILA! From my first contact with Donald, I knew that I had found the vacation home to rent for my family over the Thanksgiving holiday! By the time I arrived at Casa Tranquila, I truly thought that I was going to stay at a great friends house for the holiday! Donald made all the arrangements from transportation to/from San Jose, to all of our adventures, which included Zip Lines, Manual Antonio tour with Gama (we loved Gama and the tour is a must on your things to do while in Manuel Antonio), White Water Rafting, and our amazing massages with Todd. Donald also coordinated for a chef to come in on Thanksgiving morning, while we were white water rafting, and cook our Thanksgiving meal. What a treat! I think we have started a new family tradition! The house is beyond beautiful! We spent most mornings on the porch with our coffee and most evenings with our cocktails enjoying the amazing view! It is truly magical! Our 13-year-old boy/girl twins especially enjoyed the amazing pool, the many visits each day from the white-faced monkeys and the occasional Jesus Christ lizard (they can walk on water!). Donald was amazing, but we can't write this review without mentioning sweet Jessica and her daily housekeeping visits (did I mention that I had two teenagers she was cleaning up for???)I actually got to relax over the holidays! I would highly recommend Casa Tranquila for your next Costa Rican vacation! You will not regret it! Thank you Donald for everything! Sorry it took me so long to write this review! Our trip was so incredible and memorable that it was hard to sit down and put it into words! If only I could have sat up on your porch with a glass of vino and written away! Hope all is well with you and I hope our paths cross again one day! Hopefully at Casa Tranquila! Love, Rebecca, Steve, Wesley and Edward!

- Rebecca F. (November 2011)


Loved by Travelers Worldwide